After self-producing several of his own solo albums throughout the 2000's, Cecil Otter rose to fame as one half of the mashup duo Wugazi, a remix project that overlapped the gritty raps of Wu-Tang Clan over the sounds of post-rock vets Fugazi. The project went instantly viral and garnered high praise from the likes of NBC, Rolling Stone, MTV, and even Jay-Z's own site Life + Times. Now Cecil is back with his first solo offering in years, the three-song punch-to-the-gut Dear Echo EP, which finds him masterfully handling all production, songwriting, and vocals for his most modern and experimental sound yet.

Follow Cecil

Latest Release

Longtime Doomtree crew member and behind-the-scenes production wizard, Cecil has spent years developing his unique and signature sound, and Dear Echo pushes the genre boundaries even further for his most modern, lush, and experimental offering yet. Recorded in Fall Creek, WI at Justin Vernon’s renowned April Base Studios, the six-track EP includes three brand new songs alongside their accompanying instrumentals, with production, songwriting, and vocals masterfully handled by Cecil himself. Available now for download, Dear Echo will also see a vinyl release later this year. Standard and deluxe LP packages are now available for pre-order from the Doomtree webstore, and include limited-edition white vinyl and an extremely rare signed-and-numbered screen-print series featuring the artwork Cecil created during the Dear Echo recording sessions.

1. Cross Countries
2. Grime
3. Beauty
4. Cross Countries (Instrumental)
5. Grime (Instrumental)
6. Beauty (Instrumental)

Solo Projects

See All

Appears On

See All